GATEWAY TO THE CITY

The listed “MERKURHAUS” building is a corner house that was built in 1866 on Schlossgasse/Petersstrasse. In 1886, renowned architect Arwed Roßbach was commissioned to build a five-storey, tower-like department store in Historicism style. In 1898, Roßbach enlarged the building with an expansion that covered the full width and height of the south side, with Art Nouveau influences in its façade. Even then, the building was equipped with the latest technology: the first escalator in Leipzig was put into operation here in 1898.

Between 1936 and 1937, a new-build was added and still survives to this day. It was designed by the architect Karl Fezer. The six-storey building with its reinforced concrete skeleton construction stretches between Schlossgasse and Markgrafenstrasse. Its rows of around 450 relatively narrow windows inset into the limestone façade result in a stringent horizontal arrangement, accentuated by wide ledges above the ground floor as well as above the fourth and fifth floors. The contrasting bay window-style porches on the two longitudinal sides are a nod to Leipzig’s baroque bay window tradition.

The overall floorplan has been optimised due to new concepts and extensive refurbishment. Today, 10,000 m² of high quality retail and office space have been created and leased on the Merkurhaus site.
Contact

Jachimowicz Group

ADDRESS
Kurfürstendamm 46
10707 Berlin

TELEPHONE
+49 30 315 13 - 0

FAX
+49 30 315 13 - 151

EMAIL
mail@jachimowicz.de

WEBSITE
www.jachimowicz.de
PrivagReal Management GmbH
Kurfürstendamm 46
10707 Berlin

EMAIL
mail@privagreal.de

TELEPHONE
+49 30 31 51 31 – 55

FAX
+49 30 315 13 - 151

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER
Martina Hill

COURT OF JURISDICTION
District Court Berlin-Charlottenburg

COMMERCIAL REGISTER NO.
HRB 52895

NOTICE OF LIABILITY
Despite careful content control, we accept no liability for the contents of external links. The operators of the external websites are solely responsible for the content of linked pages. The details and information given here do not constitute a contractual offer. Nor can we be held liable for correctness and completeness. Subject to changes without notice.
Hier steht Ihre Datenschutzerklärung.

Tor zur City

Das heute unter Denkmalschutz stehende Gebäude „MERKURHAUS“ wurde 1866 als Eckgebäude Schlossgasse/Petersstraße errichtet. 1886 wurde der renommierte Architekt, Arwed Roßbach, beauftragt, an gleicher Stelle ein fünfgeschossiges, turmartig betontes Kaufhaus im Stil des Historismus zu errichten. 1898 erweiterte Roßbach das Gebäude durch einen Vorbau auf ganzer Breite und Höhe der Südseite, dieser Bauteil wies in seiner Fassadengestaltung Einflüsse des Jugendstils auf. Das Gebäude war schon damals mit modernster Technik ausgestattet, so wurde hier z.B. 1898 die erste Rolltreppe Leipzigs in Betrieb genommen.

1936-1937 wurde der bis heute bestehende Neubau errichtet. Die Entwürfe stammten von dem Architekten Karl Fezer. Das sechsgeschossige Gebäude in Stahlbetonskelettbauweise erstreckt sich zwischen Schlossgasse und Markgrafenstraße. Die Reihen der ca. 450 relativ schmalen Fenster in der Muschelkalk-Fassade ergeben eine streng horizontale Gliederung, die durch breite Gesimse über dem Erdgeschoß sowie über dem vierten und fünften Obergeschoß noch betont wird. Durch die im Kontrast dazu stehenden erkerähnlichen Vorbauten an den beiden Längsseiten wird an die barocke Erkerbautradition Leipzigs erinnert.

Durch neue Flächenkonzepte und umfangreiche Sanierung wurden sämtliche Flächen optimiert. Heute sind an dem Standort Merkurhaus 10.000 m² hochwertige Retail- und Büroflächen entstanden und vermietet.
Kontakt

Jachimowicz Group

ADRESSE
Kurfürstendamm 46
10707 Berlin

TELEFON
+49 30 315 13 - 0

FAX
+49 30 315 13 - 151

E-MAIL
mail@jachimowicz.de

WEBSITE
www.jachimowicz.de
PrivagReal Management GmbH
Kurfürstendamm 46
10707 Berlin

E-MAIL
mail@privagreal.de

TELEFON
+49 30 31 51 31 – 55

FAX
+49 30 315 13 - 151

VERTRETUNGSBERECHTIGTER GESCHÄFTSFÜHRER
Martina Hill

REGISTERGERICHT
Amtsgericht Berlin-Charlottenburg

REGISTERNUMMER
HRB 52895

HAFTUNGSHINWEIS
Trotz sorgfältiger inhaltlicher Kontrolle übernehmen wir keine Haftung für die Inhalte externer Links. Für den Inhalt der verlinkten Seiten sind ausschließlich deren Betreiber verantwortlich. Die hier gemachten Angaben und Informationen stellen kein vertragliches Angebot dar. Für die Richtigkeit und Vollständigkeit wird keine Haftung übernommen. Änderungen bleiben vorbehalten.
Hier steht Ihre Datenschutzerklärung.